It’s All Relative

Dear Friends,

Today I offer you not a single theme song, but an entire playlist.  (See below for the complete list of the songs, along with alternate versions of numbers 58.1 and 84.1, which I couldn’t include because they aren’t available on YouTube.  However, I highly recommend checking out the linked versions below!)  Also included is a brief comedy break at number 72, courtesy of John Mulaney.   I can’t tell you how much fun I had putting the playlist together.  You can decide for yourself precisely how inappropriate I was in some sections. For example, I Wanna Be Sedated followed by Cuts Like A Knife, The First Cut is the Deepest, and I’ve Got You Under My Skin, wrapping up with Don’t Stop Til You Get Enough, Take It Off, and Let’s Hang On (to What We’ve Got)?  I had no choice but to follow it with the awesome Postmodern Jukebox version of Rude.  Because.  Well.  Wait, who’s the rude one here?  Like Carly Simon claimed until recently, I’ll never tell…  But you can tell me what other songs should be included – leave a comment!

So today’s the day.  Peace out, #LeftBoob!  The run of the day has me arriving at 8am, getting a nuclear medicine injection at 10am to guide the lymph node biopsy, and finally at 11am, the surgery itself.  My understanding is that it will be a two to three hour procedure, and apparently “most people” go home the next day.  We’ll see if this is one of the rare medical instances in which I fall into the “most people” category.

I had a running joke with an old pulmonary doctor about how we were both huge fans of Einstein and his theory of relativity.  Fun fact, 2015 is the 100th anniversary of the Theory of Relativity!  The doctor came into the exam room after I’d been through the full barrage of pulmonary function tests, and he was super jazzed about the results.  Colbert Eyebrow“Great news!” he said, “You’re almost back to normal lung function!”  I raised an eyebrow in a manner that would make even Stephen Colbert jealous and said, “Normal lung function, you say?”  And we both laughed as he clarified that, “It’s all relative.”  I was essentially back to my baseline and shouldn’t compare myself to anyone else.   It’s like I always tell Polly when she is having trouble focusing on pottying because people and dogs and cars keep having the nerve to go by on the street:  don’t worry about what’s going on over there, you just worry about yourself and doing what you’re supposed to do, then you’ll be all right.  I digress.

All things being relative, here’s to my “relatively unremarkable” history allowing me to be like “most people” in this instance.  Many thanks for all of your thoughts, prayers, vibes, dances, and other vehicles of conveying positivity to me, my family, my doctors, and each other today.  Be well, friends!

Surgery Playlist

  1. Priscilla Ahn – A Good Day
  2. Audra Mae – Here I Go Again
  3. John Williams – Indiana Jones Raiders of the Lost Ark Theme
  4. Lady Gaga – Born This Way
  5. The BellRays – Third Time’s the Charm
  6. Queen – Don’t Stop Me Now
  7. Chicago – You’re the Inspiration
  8. Traveling Wilburys – Handle with Care
  9. The Ramones – I Wanna Be Sedated
  10. Bryan Adams – Cuts Like a Knife
  11. Cat Stevens – The First Cut is the Deepest
  12. Frank Sinatra – I’ve Got You Under My Skin
  13. Michael Jackson – Don’t Stop til You Get Enough
  14. Dick Dale & the Del-Tones – Take It Off
  15. Frankie Valli & the Four Seasons – Let’s Hang On to What We’ve Got
  16. Postmodern Jukebox – Rude
  17. Lake Street Dive – Bad Self Portraits
  18. The Shins – Phantom Limb
  19. Weezer – Say It Ain’t So
  20. Justin Timberlake – Sexyback
  21. Carly Simon – You’re So Vain
  22. Keri Hilson – Pretty Girl Rock
  23. The Band – Up On Cripple Creek
  24. Whitney Houston – It’s Not Right, But It’s OK
  25. Madi Davis – Big Girls Don’t Cry
  26. Eric Hutchinson – OK, It’s Alright With Me
  27. Earth, Wind, & Fire – Let’s Groove
  28. Whitney Houston & Brandy – Impossible/It’s Possible
  29. Paul McCartney & Ringo Star – With A Little Help from My Friends
  30. Jess Glynne – Hold My Hand
  31. Sister Act 2 – Oh Happy Day
  32. One Republic – I Lived
  33. Nat King Cole – Smile
  34. Mika – Grace Kelly
  35. Bon Jovi – Someday I’ll be Saturday Night
  36. Kat Edmonson – Lucky
  37. Kermit the Frog – The Rainbow Connection
  38. Miley Cyrus with Jimmy Fallon & the Roots – We Can’t Stop
  39. Havana Brown – Warrior
  40. Stevie Wonder – Don’t You Worry Bout A Thing
  41. CraigLewis Band – Change is Gonna Come
  42. Sara Bareilles – Gonna Get Over You
  43. Sarah Jarosz – Ring them Bells (Dylan cover)
  44. The Staple Singers – I’ll Take You There
  45. The Muppets – Mahna Mahna
  46. Gloria Gaynor – I Will Survive
  47. KT Tunstall – Suddenly I See
  48. Allen Stone – Celebrate Tonight
  49. Postmodern Jukebox – My Heart Will Go On
  50. Chris Colfer – Blackbird
  51. Green Day – Give Me Novocaine
  52. Kelly – I Believe I Can Fly
  53. Idina Menzell – Defying Gravity
  54. Les Miserables – Castle on a Cloud
  55. Fuel – Bad Day
  56. Jamie Cullum – Not While I’m Around
  57. Gerry & the Pacemakers – Don’t Let the Sun Catch You Cryin’
  58. fun. – Carry On
    1. Grammy Performance
  59. Walk the Moon – Shut Up and Dance
  60. The Lego Movie – Everything is Awesome
  61. The Beach Boys – Don’t Worry Baby
  62. Vampire Weekend – Oxford Comma
  63. Monty Python – Always Look on the Bright Side of Life
  64. Journey – Don’t Stop Believin’
  65. Morten Lauridsen – Dirait-on
  66. Ed Sheeran – In My Life (Beatles cover)
  67. The Clash – Rock the Casbah
  68. Billy Joel – Scenes from an Italian Restaurant
  69. Franco Bastelli – Il Tuo Mondo
  70. Cody ChestnuTT – Til I Met Thee
  71. Tom Jones – It’s Not Unusual
  72. John Mulaney – The Best Meal I Ever Had
  73. Paul McCartney – It’s Getting Better
  74. Indigo Girls – Closer to Fine
  75. Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong – They Can’t Take That Away from Me
  76. Elton John – Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me
  77. Grace Potter & the Nocturnals – Stars
  78. Postmodern Jukebox – Livin’ on a Prayer
  79. Rent Cast with Stevie Wonder – Seasons of Love
  80. SMASH Cast – Stand
  81. Blood, Sweat, & Tears – Hi-De-Ho
  82. Caro Emerald – Absolutely Me
  83. Carole King – Beautiful
  84. Sara Bareilles – Brave
    1. Carole King & Sara Bareilles – Beautiful & Brave Grammy Performance
  85. Daryl Hall with Sharon Jones & the Dap Kings – Do What You Want, Be What You Are
  86. Van Halen – Right Now
  87. James Taylor – Fire & Rain
  88. Pocahontas – Just Around the Riverbend
  89. Eva Cassidy – Songbird
  90. Odessa – I Will Be There
  91. Simon & Garfunkel – The Boxer
  92. John Legend – So High
  93. Eve with Gwen Stefani – Let Me Blow Ya Mind
  94. Iggy Pop – Success
  95. Rare Earth – I Just Want to Celebrate
  96. Elizabeth & the Catapult – The Other Side of Zero
  97. SMASH Cast – That’s Life
  98. Janelle Monáe – Dance Apocalyptic
  99. The Wiz Live Cast – Brand New Day
  100. Led Zeppelin – Thank You
  101. Stevie Wonder – As
  102. Vangelis – Chariots of Fire Theme
  103. Sarah Jarosz – Peace

21 thoughts on “It’s All Relative

    1. My attempt at Haikuiing (cause that’s a word):
      Mer’s friends pace around
      As the office fills with sound
      Well wishes abound!

      Like

  1. A special haiku update to kick off yesterday’s events for your avid followers:

    A surgery starts
    Accompanied by music
    And the thoughts of friends.

    #YourDayYourWay
    Also, it occurs to me.. Do you count the two syllables of “hashtag” when you put a hashtag in a haiku? #ImportantQuestions #It’sNotLikeYou’reTooBusyToPonderThisRight #LookAtThisLeapingGazelleWhileYouWaitForYourSurgery
    I was listening to the playlist all day!

    Like

Leave a comment